Team

Ambassadors

Heinz Tännler
Government Council Zug

The tournament gives us the opportunity to experience the ATP professional tour virtually on our doorstep. Top tennis, with everything that goes with it: world-class players and their entourages, a great event infrastructure at Tennisclub Zug, a good atmosphere and entertainment for the whole population. The tournament is a good example of the international, innovative and sport-loving region.

Severin Lüthi
Davis Cup Captain

The Challenger tournaments in Switzerland provide extra motivation and perspective. If you receive a wildcard as a young talent and then win a few matches, this can greatly accelerate your entry into the professional ranks. For the same number of points, you would otherwise have to spend an expensive year travelling the world and fighting your way through lots of small tournaments.

Jil Teichmann
WTA Tennis Player

It's always very special for us tennis pros to play tournaments in our own country:
The atmosphere, the fans in the Swiss colours, and lots of friends and family in the crowd. I think it's great that we have an ATP tournament in the Zug region, with which I have very close ties, and of course I'm keeping my fingers crossed for the Swiss players.

Angelika Leemann
President Tennisclub Zug

It fills us all with great pride to be able to host the Zug Open as a club. The global tour is looking at us in the Göbli neighbourhood for a week. The tournament offers our members and all tennis and sports enthusiasts in the region the opportunity to experience world-class tennis at close quarters. The anticipation has been huge for months.

Hanspeter Rhyner
CEO Zuger Kantonalbank

We are delighted to be part of the Zug Open with Zuger Kantonalbank as a platinum sponsor. The ATP Challenger Tour offers young talents the chance to collect ranking points and lay the foundations for a professional tennis career. We would like to support this initiative and are excited to see how the careers of the players playing in Zug develop. Who knows, maybe we will witness the finest hour of a future Grand Slam champion at Tennisclub Zug.

Mario Gyr
Olympic Rowing Champion

The mindset of a professional tennis player and a world-class rower are very similar. The top athletes are all absolutely physically ready for the competition. The difference between winning and losing often comes down to the mind. Having the mental ability to go full throttle and shift into sixth gear after a botched start, or to keep a cool head at the big points in tennis, characterises the true winners. I'm looking forward to playing ATP professional tennis close to where I live and train.

Patrick Lengwiler
CEO EVZ AG

With the Zug Open, a top sporting event with international appeal has established itself in the region within a very short space of time. For me, the tournament is a prime example of what can be achieved when people with a shared vision pull together and pool their energy and network.

Andreas Hotz
Former Mayor of Baar

Like the Centre Court at Wimbledon for Roger Federer, Baar Town Hall was my living room for many years. International sporting events such as the Zug Open bring together top-class sport, fans and the general public. They also create synergies between municipalities, clubs, SMEs and large companies.

Heinz Tännler
Government Council Zug

The tournament gives us the opportunity to experience the ATP professional tour virtually on our doorstep. Top tennis, with everything that goes with it: world-class players and their entourages, a great event infrastructure at Tennisclub Zug, a good atmosphere and entertainment for the whole population. The tournament is a good example of the international, innovative and sport-loving region.

Severin Lüthi
Davis Cup Captain

The Challenger tournaments in Switzerland provide extra motivation and perspective. If you receive a wildcard as a young talent and then win a few matches, this can greatly accelerate your entry into the professional ranks. For the same number of points, you would otherwise have to spend an expensive year travelling the world and fighting your way through lots of small tournaments.

Jil Teichmann
WTA Tennis Player

It’s always very special for us tennis pros to play tournaments in our own country:
The atmosphere, the fans in the Swiss colours, and lots of friends and family in the crowd. I think it’s great that we have an ATP tournament in the Zug region, with which I have very close ties, and of course I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the Swiss players.

Team

Ambassadors

Heinz Tännler
Regierungsrat Kanton Zug

Mit dem Turnier erhalten wir die Gelegenheit, quasi vor der Haustüre die ATP-Profitour zu erleben. Spitzentennis, mit allem, was dazugehört: Weltklassespieler und ihre Entouragen, eine tolle Event-Infrastruktur im Tennisclub Zug, gute Stimmung und Unterhaltung für die ganze Bevölkerung. Das Turnier ist ein gutes Beispiel für die internationale, innovative und sportbegeisterte Region.

Severin Lüthi
Davis Cup-Captain

Die Challenger-Turniere in der Schweiz bedeuten eine extra Motivation und geben eine Perspektive. Wenn du als Jungtalent eine Wildcard erhältst, dann ein paar Matches gewinnst, kann dies den Eintritt in die Profikarriere stark beschleunigen. Für die gleiche Punkteanzahl müsste man sonst kostspielig ein Jahr durch die Welt reisen und sich durch viele kleine Turniere kämpfen.

Jil Teichmann
WTA-Tennisspielerin

Für uns Tennisprofis ist es immer sehr speziell, Turniere im eigenen Land zu spielen:
Die Stimmung, die Fans in den Schweizer Farben, und viele Freunde und die Familie im Publikum. Ich finde es toll, haben wir ein ATP-Turnier in der Region Zug, mit der ich sehr verbunden bin, und drücke den Schweizer Spielern natürlich die Daumen.

Angelika Leemann
Präsidentin Tennisclub Zug

Es erfüllt uns alle mit grossem Stolz, als Club Austragungsort des Zug Open sein zu dürfen. Die globale Tour schaut eine Woche lang auf uns im Göbli-Quartier. Das Turnier bietet unseren Mitgliedern sowie allen Tennis- und Sportbegeisterten der Region die Möglichkeit, Weltklassetennis aus nächster Nähe zu erleben. Die Vorfreude ist seit Monaten riesig.

Hanspeter Rhyner
CEO Zuger Kantonalbank

Wir freuen uns, mit der Zuger Kantonalbank als Platin-Sponsor Teil des Zug Open zu sein. Die ATP Challenger Tour bietet Jungtalenten die Chance, Rankingpunkte zu sammeln und den Grundstein für eine Profi-Tenniskarriere zu legen. Diese Initiative möchten wir unterstützen und sind gespannt, wie sich der Werdegang der in Zug aufschlagenden Spieler entwickelt. Wer weiss, vielleicht werden wir im Tennisclub Zug Zeuge der Sternstunde eines kommenden Grand-Slam-Champions.

Mario Gyr
Olympiasieger Rudern

Der Mindset eines Profi-Tennisspielers und eines Weltklasse-Ruderers sind sich sehr ähnlich. Die Spitzenathleten sind alle körperlich für den Wettkampf absolut bereit. Der Unterschied zwischen Sieg oder Niederlage entsteht oft im Kopf. Die mentale Fähigkeit zu haben, nach einem verpatzten Start Vollgas zu geben und den sechsten Gang einzulegen, oder beim Tennis bei den Big Points kühlen Kopf zu bewahren, zeichnet die wahren Gewinnertypen aus. Ich freue mich auf ATP-Profitennis ganz in der Nähe meines Wohn- und Trainingsortes.

Patrick Lengwiler
CEO EVZ AG

Mit dem Zug Open hat sich innert kürzester Zeit ein Spitzensport-Event mit internationaler Ausstrahlung in der Region etabliert. Das Turnier ist für mich ein Paradebeispiel, was alles erreicht werden kann, wenn Leute mit gemeinsamer Vision am selben Strang ziehen und ihre Energie und das Netzwerk bündeln.

Andreas Hotz
Ex-Gemeindepräsident Baar

So wie der Centre Court in Wimbledon für Roger Federer, war das Baarer Rathaus für mich während vielen Jahren das Wohnzimmer. Internationale Sportevents wie das Zug Open bringen Spitzensport, Fans und die breite Bevölkerung zusammen. Ausserdem schaffen sie Synergien zwischen den Gemeinden, Vereinen und KMU sowie Grossunternehmen.

Viktor Naumann
Ex-Präsident Tennisclub Zug

Der Tennisclub Zug gehört seit seiner Gründung 1928 zu den traditionsreichsten Sportvereinen der Region. Als ehemaliger Präsident freue ich mich sehr darüber, wie sich der Verein weiterentwickelt hat. Ich beobachte mit Interessen das aktuelle Geschehen, wo dank dem Zuger Open auch das professionelle ATP-Tennis den Weg auf die schöne Anlage gefunden hat. Nach dem Ende der Interclub-Saison folgen so die sommerlichen Tennishighlights Schlag auf Schlag. Die letzte Juliwoche ist bei mir schon lange im Kalender markiert.

Heinz Tännler
Regierungsrat Kanton Zug

Mit dem Turnier erhalten wir die Gelegenheit, quasi vor der Haustüre die ATP-Profitour zu erleben. Spitzentennis, mit allem, was dazugehört: Weltklassespieler und ihre Entouragen, eine tolle Event-Infrastruktur im Tennisclub Zug, gute Stimmung und Unterhaltung für die ganze Bevölkerung. Das Turnier ist ein gutes Beispiel für die internationale, innovative und sportbegeisterte Region.

Severin Lüthi
Davis Cup-Captain

Die Challenger-Turniere in der Schweiz bedeuten eine extra Motivation und geben eine Perspektive. Wenn du als Jungtalent eine Wildcard erhältst, dann ein paar Matches gewinnst, kann dies den Eintritt in die Profikarriere stark beschleunigen. Für die gleiche Punkteanzahl müsste man sonst kostspielig ein Jahr durch die Welt reisen und sich durch viele kleine Turniere kämpfen.